Let me begin by stating that nobody has asked me my opinion of this.  Absolutely nobody.

Nevertheless, enough has been made of the whole thing that I have spent some time thinking about it.

First, the easy part: obviously it’s protected speech.  There were a few places online where I saw people suggesting that the image of Kathy Griffin holding the severed head of the president was a threat.  I don’t think that any reasonable person believes that, so I’m not going to spend anymore time on it.

That being said, just because there are not legal repercussions for an action doesn’t mean that there won’t or shouldn’t be social repercussions for those actions.

So what exactly did she do?  What was she saying?  As best as I can tell, the image is just a graphic way of saying, ‘I hate this man.’

Well, I hate him too.  But the image in question was graphic, tacky, and, as best as I can tell, devoid of anything really meaningful.  It doesn’t add anything to the conversation, it just expresses how she feels in a graphic way.  I don’t think that it was a good choice on her part.

But while I think it was a pointless thing to do, and I’m not going to defend it, I can’t bring myself to condemn it either.  And the argument about how troubling it was for Barron Trump has no bearing son anything.  Unless she specifically tried to put it places for him to run into.

The funny thing is, if a photographer had set up this shoot, and had her, or someone else dress as the statue of liberty, or pretty much anything, and take the same shot, I could see defending it as art.  But this was just a shocking way to say, ‘I hate this person.’

By the same token, if she had gone a step further and had people done up to look like Trump’s family, and had them lying around, fake slaughtered, I could see condemning her actions.  But she didn’t.  She limited herself to someone who has lived his life in the public eye, and who is worthy of critique.

And beyond all of that, if I felt that she, in any way, represented a group that I was a part of, I would probably feel like I had to feel something about what she did.  But she doesn’t represent anyone, as far as I’m concerned.

So, basically what I’m saying is, after nobody asked me my opinion, and after a lot of thought, I have nothing to say about this.

Leave a Reply

